Guide · Prices checked 30 August 2026
Budget freediving computers in 2026: what everything actually costs
A wearable dive computer with a real apnea mode costs between $400 and $1,600 new. This is the whole market, priced at official retail — and then the route almost nobody writes about: a second-hand Garmin Fenix 5 Plus, which already reads real depth, running a free app, for about $120. It does the freediving job that matters, and it does it for a quarter of the cheapest unit on the list.
Who wrote this, and why that matters
We make inDepth Apnea Blue, one of the free apps this guide ends up recommending. That is a conflict of interest and you should read the page knowing it. What we have done about it: every price below is dated and attributed, the depth claims link to our measured per-watch data with its evidence tier stated, and the section on what the used route costs you is as long as the section on what it saves you. We have not cited any forum post as independent support, because the only ones we found on this approach were written by us.
What a freediving computer actually has to do
Strip the marketing away and the job is small. It has to know how deep you went, how long you were down, and how long you have been back on the surface. It has to warn you at a depth you chose, on your wrist, where you can feel it. And it has to keep a log, because progression in freediving is a season-long thing, not a dive-by-dive thing.
The surface interval is the part that matters most and gets the least attention in spec sheets. Hypoxic blackout risk accumulates across a session — the dive that gets you is rarely the deepest one, it is the eighth one after eight intervals that were each a little too short. A unit that times your dive but does not model your recovery is solving the easier half of the problem. That is the lens the tables below are sorted through.
What a new freediving computer costs in 2026
Every model here is a watch you wear on your wrist with a native freedive or apnea mode built in — no phone, no app required. These are official retail prices, checked on 30 August 2026 against the manufacturer's own store, sorted low to high.
| Model | New price | Depth rating | Freedive alarms | Wear it daily? | Ongoing cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mares Smart Apnea | $399.95 | 150 m | 6 independent depth alarms | Yes — has a normal watch mode | Free |
| Garmin Descent G1 | $549.99 | 100 m | 8 dive-alert types | Yes | Free |
| Shearwater Tern | $595 | 120 m | 13 configurable alerts | No — pure dive computer | Not stated |
| Suunto D5 | $649 | 100 m, EN 13319 | 5 depth + 1 surface, settable 3–99 m | Partial — no GPS, no activity tracking | Free |
| Garmin Descent G2 | $699.99 | 100 m | 13 dive-alert types | Yes — AMOLED smartwatch | Free |
| Apple Watch Ultra 3 + Oceanic+ | $799 | 40 m hard ceiling | 5, via the app | Yes | $4.99/mo = $59.88/yr |
| Suunto Ocean | $899 | 60 m operating limit | 3 types × up to 5 each, depth 3–59 m | Yes — full GPS multisport | Free |
| Garmin Descent Mk3 43 mm | $1,199.99 | 200 m | Depth, time, speed, interval, direction | Yes | Free |
| Shearwater Teric | $1,199 | 200 m | 13 configurable alerts | No — pure dive computer | Not stated |
| Garmin Descent Mk3i 51 mm | $1,599.99 | 200 m | As Mk3 43 mm | Yes — but the heaviest here | Free |
Three things that table makes obvious
Depth ceiling does not track price. The $399.95 Mares Smart Apnea displays to 150 m. The $799 Suunto Ocean stops at a 60 m operating limit and its depth alarm cannot be set past 59 m. The $799 Apple Watch Ultra 3 is capped at 40 m and that is an Apple-level limit, not an app setting. For a freediver specifically, the two most expensive general-purpose watches on the list have the shallowest limits on it.
Watch-shaped is not the same as daily-wearable. Shearwater's Tern and Teric are handsome round watches and they are excellent dive computers, but they carry no phone notifications and no activity tracking. If the plan was one watch for diving and everything else, they are not it, and neither quite is the Suunto D5.
There is no cheap end. The entry price for a wearable with a real apnea mode is $399.95, and the cheapest one from a manufacturer's current lineup is the Descent G1 at $549.99. Nothing in this category is built to a budget — which is exactly why the second-hand route below is worth the two paragraphs almost nobody writes about it.
The Apple Watch already proved the cheaper idea works
Notice what the Apple Watch Ultra is doing on that list. It has no native dive mode at all. It is a general-purpose smartwatch that becomes a dive computer because an app — Oceanic+ — turns its pressure sensor into one, and Apple built the hardware to a 40 m rating so the app could be certified to EN 13319. That is the most mainstream dive computer sold today, and it is a fitness watch plus software.
So "a sports watch running an app is not a real freediving computer" is an argument that Apple, Oceanic and a few hundred thousand divers have already settled. The interesting question is not whether the approach works. It is what it should cost.
Apple's answer: $799 for the current Ultra 3, and freediving mode sits behind a $4.99/month Oceanic+ tier — separate from the scuba subscription, and not in the free tier, which is snorkelling only. There is no annual freedive plan and no lifetime unlock, so that is $59.88 a year, indefinitely. Buy a used Ultra 2 instead at its going rate of about $362 and five years of freediving costs you $661 all in. It is a good product. It is not a cheap one, and it stops at 40 m.
The same idea, at a fraction of the price: a used Garmin Fenix 5 Plus
The Garmin Fenix 5 Plus family — the 5 Plus, 5S Plus and 5X Plus — does the same trick as the Apple Watch, for a fifth of the money, and for two reasons that happen to line up perfectly.
The first is the sensor Garmin put in them. A teardown of the Fenix 5 identified the pressure part as a TE MS5837-30BA — and that is not the MEMS altimeter chip you would expect to find in a running watch. It is a 30-bar part, specified for roughly 300 m of water, from the same family of sensors that go into purpose-built dive computers, and its datasheet holds ±0.5 m out to about 50 m. Garmin never marketed this, and the Fenix 5 Plus part number is inferred from matching behaviour rather than a teardown of its own — but it explains something people find surprising, which is that a fitness watch from this era reads depth properly instead of pinning near the surface. Our own per-watch measurements are consistent with it.
What limits how deep you can take one is the case, not the sensor. The app's depth alarms run to 40 m, matching the case rating — deeper than the $799 Apple Watch Ultra 3 is certified to go. For line training, spearfishing and working on a comfortable 20 or 30 m, the watch reads everything you are actually doing.
The second is that a previous-generation flagship costs almost nothing. A working Fenix 5 Plus typically changes hands for around $120. That is less than a third of the cheapest new wearable with an apnea mode, and under a tenth of a Descent Mk3.
And then the app does things the dive computers do not
This is where the comparison stops being about price at all. A dedicated freediving computer is a very good depth gauge with a recovery timer attached. inDepth Apnea Blue and inDepth Apnea Pool — both free, both running on the same $120 watch — are a training system.
| Capability | Dedicated freediving computers | Fenix 5 Plus + inDepth (free) |
|---|---|---|
| Surface-rest guidance | Typically one recovery timer, a fixed multiple of dive time | Five models — 2×, 3×, Adaptive (AIDA), Taravana and Molchanovs — with a countdown ring and an explicit "not recovered yet" state |
| During the dive | Live depth, dive time, depth alarms | Live depth, dive time, depth alarms to 40 m, automatic dive detection and hang detection |
| Pool apnea — DYN, DYNB, DNF, STA | A mode on the high-end Descents; uncommon below them | Automatic turn and lap detection, per-length splits and a per-rep heart-rate trace |
| Structured workouts | Rare, or on a separate web platform behind an account | Built on your phone, synced to the watch, editable poolside |
| Review on the wrist | Max depth and dive time | Last-dive summary between dives, full session history, multi-page review — all while the rest countdown keeps running |
| Your logbook | Vendor app or web platform, account usually required | Native phone app, your data stored locally, CSV export and a backup file you own |
| Marking a spot | Rare | Saved as a real Garmin saved location, with a satellite map in the phone app |
| Ongoing cost | Free, up to $59.88/yr | None — no account, no server, no subscription |
Read that table next to the price table at the top of the page, because together they are the whole argument. On the things a freediver actually does — recovering properly between dives, training in the pool, following a workout, and keeping a season's worth of history — a $120 Fenix 5 Plus is not merely competitive with a $1,600 Descent. It does more. Five surface-rest models against one timer. A full pool discipline with automatic turns and splits. Workouts you build on the sofa and swim on Tuesday. A logbook that belongs to you, on your own phone, with no account to create and nothing to renew.
The expensive computers earn their price on things that are not freediving: scuba certification, deep case ratings, air integration, native dive modes for gas mixes. If you need those, buy one. If what you do is hold your breath, the value comparison is not close.
What it costs, all in
| Route | Hardware | Over five years |
|---|---|---|
| Used Fenix 5 Plus + inDepth | ~$120 | $120 |
| Used Apple Watch Ultra 2 + Oceanic+ | ~$362 | $661 |
| New Mares Smart Apnea | $399.95 | $399.95 |
| New Garmin Descent G1 | $549.99 | $549.99 |
| New Apple Watch Ultra 3 + Oceanic+ | $799 | $1,098 |
| New Garmin Descent Mk3 43 mm | $1,199.99 | $1,199.99 |
Even against the cheapest new unit in the whole category, the used Fenix route saves you $280 — and against the watch most people actually want, the Descent Mk3, it saves you more than a thousand dollars. Put that toward a decent set of fins, a good lanyard and a course, all three of which will do more for your diving than any computer at any price.
A note on the second-hand market, since guides in this niche tend to quote whatever number flatters the argument: eBay's sold listings sit behind a login, so published "used prices" are almost always what sellers are asking, which runs higher than what watches actually change hands for. The figures below are the typical second-hand price for each model, and they are a snapshot of 30 August 2026, not a quote.
| Used, second-hand market | Typical price |
|---|---|
| Garmin Fenix 5 Plus family | ~$120 |
| Mares Smart Apnea | $299 |
| Apple Watch Ultra 2 (+ subscription) | $362 |
| Garmin Descent G1 | $525 |
| Suunto D5 | $550 |
| Garmin Descent Mk2 / Mk2i | $999 |
| Garmin Descent Mk3 / Mk3i | $1,530 |
How to buy a used Fenix 5 Plus without getting burned
- Ask for a photo of the charging contacts. Corroded charging pins are this generation's documented failure mode, and Garmin has quoted around $180–200 to repair one — more than the watch is worth. Green or pitted contacts, walk away.
- Ask the seller to press every button on video. Sticky start/stop buttons are the other known fault, and they are seal-related, which matters more than usual on a watch you intend to take underwater.
- Have the seller remove it from their Garmin account. Garmin devices work fine for a new owner without any action from the old one, but a clean handover avoids confusion later. Ask for the original receipt if there is any warranty left, and check the serial number is intact.
- Which one to get: the 5 Plus (47 mm) is the value pick and usually the cheapest of the three; the 5S Plus is the 42 mm small-wrist version; the 5X Plus is the 51 mm one and is large on most wrists. All three read depth identically and all three run both inDepth apps. The non-Plus Fenix 5, 5S and 5X are often no cheaper, and they have less memory — inDepth Pool does not run on them at all.
What is the cheapest freediving computer worth buying in 2026?
At full retail, the Mares Smart Apnea at $399.95 is the cheapest wearable watch with a real apnea mode, and the Garmin Descent G1 at $549.99 is the cheapest one from a manufacturer's current lineup. Both are good units. Both are also beaten on value by a used Fenix 5 Plus at around $120 running a free app, which does the same freediving job — depth, dive time, surface-rest modelling, a log — for roughly a quarter of the price, and adds pool apnea that neither of them covers. Prices checked 30 August 2026.
Can you use a Garmin Fenix as a freediving computer?
On the Fenix 5 and Fenix 5 Plus families, yes, with a third-party app. Those watches use a pressure sensor that reports real depth to Connect IQ apps, because Garmin fitted them with a 30-bar dive-class pressure sensor rather than an altimeter chip (see our per-watch measurements). An app such as inDepth Apnea Blue turns that into automatic dive detection, live depth, depth alarms, surface-rest models and a dive log. It is not a certified dive computer: the case carries a 10 ATM water rating rather than the EN 13319 dive rating a dedicated unit carries, and there is no native dive mode. Not every Garmin can do this, and the more expensive ones are not automatically the better ones for it — the per-watch measurements are worth reading before you buy anything.
Is it safe to buy a used dive computer or dive watch?
It is common, but the water seal is the one part you cannot inspect and no seller can warrant. On a used Fenix 5 Plus specifically, the checks in the previous section are the ones that matter: charging contacts for corrosion, every button worked through its travel, and the screen edge for moisture marks. Those are this generation's documented failure modes, and a corroded charging port is a $180–200 repair — more than the watch. Ask the seller to remove the device from their Garmin account before it ships.
Do you need a dive computer for freediving?
For a single shallow dive, no. For repeated depth dives, something has to track your depth, your dive time and your surface interval, because — as above — the risk builds across the session rather than within any one dive. Whether that is a $1,600 Descent or a $200 watch running an app matters less than whether you are actually looking at a rest countdown before you drop again.
A watch is an aid, not a guarantee. inDepth Apnea Blue is not a medical device and is not a certified dive computer, and no surface-rest model removes the risks of freediving. Never dive alone, always follow the one-up one-down rule, and treat every rest recommendation as a minimum.